Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Indiana

In the state of Indiana, can someone under felony home incarceration receive an inheritance from a trust? Can probate courts hold the money until my sentence is served? (All detention fees are current. No outstanding restitution.) Thanks.

Asked on 10/29/20, 2:49 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

C. David DuMond Law Offices of David DuMond

The status of a person's incarceration does not prevent inheritance. Nor does it affect trust distribution, unless the terms of the trust provide for some disparate treatment.

Read more
Answered on 10/29/20, 3:45 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Indiana