Legal Question in Administrative Law in Iowa

hello i won a jackpot at the casino and they inform me that I owe money on fines from 17 years ago... All fines listed said paid..there was two charages together so there was a 16 warrant fee, and surcharges and other (which I come to find out is interst.. Anyway I filed a contestment to the offset and was granted a hearing, which I just had however when i was in the court the judge stated he would set another hearing because they werent prepared because the case was so old etc etc.. So i left and later that night I go on iowa search and theres a notice that says all my fines and costs are paid and no new hearing is required...Come to find out they applied the off set money before I even had my hearing..Is that legal???? cause I contested and won a hearing on the following grounds... I have never been notifed in 17 yrs, no warrant, not on credit report, ive had a dl in iowa, I have been on disability since 2003 and honestly was unaware of it.. when i looked before i contested it anywhere it says fines its paid on both cases.. theres surcharges and others and the clerk of court went to speak to judge and now they say i need to write another contestment to what happened here.. I feel like Iam being bullshitted and i wldnt think they cld release and apply my money before my hearing..

Asked on 11/21/17, 9:41 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Luedeman solo practitioner

How much money is involved? What did they offer for proof? What proof do you have? Stuff on the internet isn't equivalent to proof-you must have hard copy.

Read more
Answered on 11/21/17, 11:00 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Administrative Law questions and answers in Iowa