Legal Question in Employment Law in Kentucky

I work at a non-profit organization for special needs kids. I began as a volunteer and they hired me on a couple years ago for the office staff. I have still been volunteering at events to enjoy the company of the kids. My boss told me I was no longer allowed to volunteer. She said it was a labor law that we cannot volunteer at my place of work. I am not making any money back or gaining any extras. I am simply volunteering. Is this true? Thanks in advance!

Asked on 4/09/13, 7:38 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Andrea Welker Welker Law Office

Technically, yes. However, it depends on the nature of the events and the relationship of the nonprofit with the event. If you're full time, and a salaried employee, it shouldn't be a problem though.

Read more
Answered on 4/11/13, 8:10 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Kentucky