Legal Question in Medical Malpractice in Kentucky

I was recently taken to the ER dpt. of our local hospital due to severe pain to the head,neck & behind one eye. I also was experiencing extreme dizziness & nausea.My mouth was drawn to one side as well as the eye w/the pain being severely drooped. Also swallowing was almost completely non-existing. The Dr did not do any type of labs or testing and diagnosed me w/sinusitis and released me.I went to my mothers approx.1 mile from the hospital and within 30 min.was unable to swallow my own saliva at all & began aspirating on my own vomit and could not walk.911 was called and I was taken back to the same hospital and Dr by ambulance.This time a blood gas,ct scan & abg was performed but still no bloodwork. This time I was diagnosed w/gastritus and given a shot of phenergran for nausea and once again released.I had to be taken to my Moms car via wheelchair as I could not even situp.All this took place in a lil over an hour.I was driven 45min away to another hospitals ER and was treated and admitted rapidly w/no questions for a stroke.I now have no feeling on the right side of my body and can only swallow soft foods.I'm in therapy & looking at surgery shortly.The neurosurgeon shook her head in disbelief when finding out that I had been seen twice & released within hours of being admitted.Am I wrong in believing that I was the victim of severe negligence?When I sought treatment I could still swallow (although w/some difficulty)and still had feeling throughout my body but the longer that I went w/out treatment during those 2 visits and the trip to the other hospital the more body functions I lost.After arriving at the treating hospital, I was so rapidly diagnosed and treated that there was not anymore decline only improvement.I apologize for this being so lengthy & I appreciate your time in checking over this matter for me.

Asked on 6/13/12, 5:15 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Ethan Manning Meinhart Smith & Manning

I would be happy to discuss your potential claim.


Read more
Answered on 8/16/12, 7:47 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Medical Malpractice Law questions and answers in Kentucky