Legal Question in Family Law in Louisiana

I was legally married to my first spouse for 24 years(separated for about 20 years. I'm not sure what type of retirement plan he had but died Nov of 2017. When we divorced in 2011 it was uncontested and we made no mention of how to split our retirement. I did remarry in 2016. Is it possible that I could be entitled to his retirement. We married in Louisiana and divorced in Louisiana

Asked on 12/22/17, 7:08 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Andrew Casanave Andrew M. Casanave

It is possible. I suggest you consult with a lawyer who is board certified in family law

Read more
Answered on 12/22/17, 7:37 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Louisiana