Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Louisiana

We lost our home in the flood. We did rent and our lease isn't up yet. I called to see when we can move back in and she said she would give us our deposit back and then we would have to do another app to see if we qualify to rent it because they are raising the rent. My lease isn't even up yet are they allowed to just kick us out like that?

Asked on 9/12/16, 10:38 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Louque The Louque Law Firm, L.L.C.

If the premises is currently unlivable the landlord has the option to cancel the lease, the landlord is not required to keep the premises available forever while repairs are being made.

Read more
Answered on 9/12/16, 5:11 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Louisiana