Legal Question in Traffic Law in Louisiana

I was traveling in the left lane and I decided I wanted to move over into the right lane, I checked my blind spot and didn't see anyone, so I went to get over and suddenly there was a car there. The officer called it a side swipe. I got careless operation.. Why? Why didn't I just get improper lane usage? What do you think the penalties will be?

Asked on 7/14/17, 8:01 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Andrew Casanave Andrew M. Casanave

The maximum penalties under state law are the same. Both are standard moving violations.

You may have confused Careless Operation with Reckless Operation, which isn't even in the traffic code, but the criminal code.

Read more
Answered on 7/14/17, 8:29 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in Louisiana