Legal Question in Bankruptcy in Maine

I filed for and was granted a bankruptcy in 2012 which included my home. Today I received a 1099-A from a collection agency which I have told on numerous occasions that I gave up the house in the bankruptcy. I provided them my bankruptcy claim number and the name of my lawyer.

What are my responsibilities in regard to the 1099-A?

Asked on 2/05/15, 4:12 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

scott logan Law Office of J. Scott Logan, LLC

The 1099-A should not have a box checked indicating you are personally liable for the debt. If it does, the lender should correct that. Have you called your lawyer?

Read more
Answered on 2/05/15, 4:51 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in Maine