Legal Question in Consumer Law in Maine

A credit card company put a lien on my property and took me to court to pay. The judge dismissed the case because I had no funds to pay it. What happened to the lien? It still shows up on my house's title at the court house. It was around 20 years ago.

Asked on 10/12/14, 8:28 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

scott logan Law Office of J. Scott Logan, LLC

The lender likely received a judgment and the court dismissed the disclosure hearing as your income was insufficient for garnishment. That dismissal did not affect the validity of the recorded judgment lien

Read more
Answered on 2/05/15, 4:54 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in Maine