Legal Question in Consumer Law in Maine

I was at a super market. I was purchasing wine. I was asked for ID. I am 50 years old and do not look like I am under 21. When I gave the cashier my ID, she typed my information into the cash register. I asked her why she did that. She told me that their store had been charged and found guilty of selling to an undercover officer without asking for ID. Since then, they have been required to ask everyone for their ID when purchasing alcohol. Is it legal for them to require that I have to give up my information to purchase alcohol at their establishment. If this is tru, could you give me the the title and section or regulation that would requir this. I feel that this is an infringment on my constitutional right to purchase alcohol without someone entering my ID information into their computer system.

Thank you


Asked on 11/15/14, 2:07 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

scott logan Law Office of J. Scott Logan, LLC

Yes it is legal to request that information. If it poses a problem, perhaps you should refrain from purchasing alcohol

Read more
Answered on 2/05/15, 4:53 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in Maine