Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Maine

How is unsecured credit card debt paid at death if you have no savings, no insurance and only a jointly owned piece of property? Only my name is on the credit card debt. Thank you.

Asked on 4/29/10, 8:40 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

scott logan Law Office of J. Scott Logan, LLC

If the land will pass through your probate estate, your creditors must receive notice and an opportunity to file claims. If there are no assets in the probate estate, the debt dies with you.

Read more
Answered on 5/05/10, 8:12 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Maine