Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Maine

My wife owes a debt which has been taken over by a collection agency. If she is eventually sued for the debt in smell claims court will she be responsible for the full debt or only the amount the collection agency payed for the dabt it is my understanding it is the function of the small claums court to make the plaintiff whole which would be the amount they spent to purchase the debt

Asked on 2/05/13, 11:44 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

scott logan Law Office of J. Scott Logan, LLC

Your wife will be liable for the whole debt plus any fees or charges that accrue after the account is assigned or purchased.

Read more
Answered on 3/04/13, 7:49 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Maine