Legal Question in Civil Litigation in Maine

is it legal to be married and engaged to another person at the same time?

Asked on 6/29/10, 11:03 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jerome Gamache Ainsworth Thelin & Raftice, P.A.

Marriage is a legally recognized and controlled process; engagement is not. Obviously the engagement cannot be fulfilled until the prior marriage is dissolved by operation of law.

Read more
Answered on 6/30/10, 10:49 am

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in Maine