Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Maine

We've been renting to tenants at our house in another city for about 7 months, we've only receive a months rent from them during this duration. We have no lease. We've spoken to them about needing to pay or we would have to have them leave. Without a lease, do we still need to give them a thirty-day notice of eviction?

Asked on 3/29/10, 5:23 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Elliott Teel Teel Law Office

You can give them a seven day notice, but then you still need to go through the court and file a Forcible Entry and Detainer action against them. Any attempt at eviction without a court order is illegal.

Read more
Answered on 4/05/10, 6:32 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Maine