Legal Question in Product Liability in Maine

I lost all my possessions in a house fire that was started by a faulty water cooler. I am now in the process of suing the manufacturer. my lawyer who has agreed to take the case for one third of the award, has recently told me that I have to pay the fees/expenses to have any experts testify. he said it would cost between 12 and 24 thousand dollars. I thought the attorney was supposed to take on this expense - not the plaintiff. can you tell me if I'm right about this?

Asked on 6/28/10, 1:42 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Marchese Drummond & Drummond, LLP

Those fees always are paid out of client funds, whether the funds are advanced at the time of litigation, or taken out of any money obtained from settlement or payment after judgment.

Read more
Answered on 6/29/10, 7:25 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Products Liability questions and answers in Maine