Legal Question in Disability Law in Maryland

Wrongful Termination?

I was recently sent a letter of termination. The reason given in the letter was that I was terminated because my 12 weeks of job protected leave under FMLA had expired.

I am still on medical leave and will be having back surgery soon. Is it legal to terminate a person who is on medical leave? FYI -- They have not replaced me with another person; instead, they have "farmed out" my work to others in the department.

Asked on 3/03/00, 10:36 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Ken Koury Kenneth P. Koury, Esq.

Re: Wrongful Termination?

Yes, it is legal to let you go once the leave is up.

Read more
Answered on 3/15/00, 10:47 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Disability Discrimination Law (ADA) questions and answers in Maryland