my son got a vop and was sentenced. The judge gave an appeal bond of 1000.00 cash no bondsman. the clerk said the judge had said when it is filed he would drop all charges. can you explain this to me?
1 Answer from Attorneys
Re: appeal bond
If you want to file an appeal, you have 30 days to do so, but you should do it ASAP. If you file the appeal, then you can post the $1000 directly to the court, and the Defendant would be released from jail pending the appeal.
Related Questions & Answers
What is a Motion to dismiss and suppress? I had criminal charges filed against me,... Asked 1/01/08, 11:46 pm in United States Maryland Criminal Law
Arrest. what's the difference between being detained and being arrested? Asked 12/30/07, 5:38 pm in United States Maryland Criminal Law
Possible Suit Against Public High School My teenager in the 10th grade was assulted... Asked 12/22/07, 1:21 pm in United States Maryland Criminal Law
Process after an arrest When a person gets arrested is it a good idea to have an... Asked 12/21/07, 11:19 am in United States Maryland Criminal Law