Legal Question in Criminal Law in Maryland

my girlfriend was charged with assault in 2004. Her father just died and step mother came into room and she ended up blacking out over something that was said and assaulted this women. she was charged with assault in 2004. she was given probation before judgement because she had never been in trouble before. Well she just finished college and graduated to become a nurse. she has passed all the test and is an RN. However her background check shows this assault and is holding up her getting her license. She needs to hurry the process up so she can get a job. Can anybody recommend someone to call to speed the process up. They are talking 2 months to get it done. she is a single mom, husband split, and she needs to work. Help

Asked on 2/07/17, 5:22 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

William Welch William L. Welch, III Attorney

If your girlfriend has filed her Petition for Expungement, then that's all she can do. In my experience these take between six weeks and six months to process.

Read more
Answered on 2/08/17, 5:59 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Maryland