Legal Question in Family Law in Maryland

Child's Name

My stepdaughter has the legal last name of her father, but her mother has been giving the child's last name as her own, rather than her father's. Is she legally allowed to do so, especially since her legal last name is her father's?

Asked on 12/19/03, 2:38 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Sher Wagshal and Sher

Re: Child's Name

While this often happens after divorces, the child's legal last name is what is on her birth certificate unless formally changed through a court petition.

Read more
Answered on 12/19/03, 3:18 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Maryland