Legal Question in Social Security Law in Maryland

My father passed away last year. I had not even thought about his social security but now I've found out that my mother, his ex wife, is receiving his social security. Considering that they were divorced and I am his daughter, am I not the one entitled to his social security?

Asked on 6/07/20, 7:42 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Randall Selagy F. Randall Selagy, P.C.

You father's retirement benefit ended upon his death. His widow may be receiving a widow's benefit but that is not HIS social security. There may also be a benefit for any surviving minor children.

Read more
Answered on 6/08/20, 4:30 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Social Security Law questions and answers in Maryland