Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Massachusetts

False Credit Fraud Acquisiation.

I am actually asking this question for my wife. Her mother has filed a claim with her credit card company and has contacted a lawyer to falsely accuse my wife of fraudulant charges. Over the past few months the mothers card had been used for purchses such as presents for our daugther and one small charge for some heating oil.

There was a big misunderstanding between my wife and her mother recently and now she is claiming that she never gave my wife permission to use the card,when in fact she did give her permission. Some of these charges are a few months old and my wife has been paying the bill for the charges she accumulated. Now, her mother is recanting on the offer of "use the card if you need it" and is making the claim of fraudulent charges.

Can anyone explain to me what we need to prepare ourselves for and what if anyhthing we can do to her mother for making these false claims.

Asked on 1/13/11, 9:40 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Steven Bloom Cushner & Bloom, P.C.

I strongly recommend that your wife immediately retain an attorney to represent her on this matter.

Read more
Answered on 1/18/11, 10:08 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Massachusetts