Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Massachusetts

Would a widow in Massachusetts be responsible for her husband's debt?

Asked on 5/09/18, 11:16 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

L. Jed Berliner Berliner Law Firm


- Widow remains responsible for joint debts that both spouses signed.

- Husband's estate is responsible for husband's creditors who file a claim within one year of the death assuming a timely probate case is opened.

Read more
Answered on 5/11/18, 9:23 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Massachusetts