Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Massachusetts

I desperately need an answer quickly. I have started the eviction process on my tenant over a month ago through the sheriff and will go back to do whatever else needs to be done but this tenant has not paid me for this month and is not making any effort to leave. Someone told me that because he has started his children in school, even though he knew he was being evicted ,that I cannot evict him as long as he has done this. Please, I need an answer. I am a senior citizen and he has caused me so much trouble in the past year, I really cannot take much more.

Asked on 8/31/17, 1:37 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

No, the elderly and tenants with children under 6 get some extra time, but the fact children have enrolled in school is not a ground to stop an eviction.

Read more
Answered on 8/31/17, 7:53 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Massachusetts