Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Massachusetts

My cousin passed away in August. She did not have time to make the change to her will but did write a letter stating that she wanted to leave me 20,000 dollars. Will this be valid?

Asked on 3/25/11, 6:32 pm

2 Answers from Attorneys

Richard Kell Law Office of Richard B. Kell

Not a chance.

Read more
Answered on 3/25/11, 6:45 pm
Denise Leydon Harvey Harvey Law Offices

No. Unless a will is changed by a codicil or by a revocation and new will, its terms as written and witnessed will stand.

Read more
Answered on 3/28/11, 9:37 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Massachusetts