Legal Question in Business Law in Michigan

My son wants to start a company selling products to make money for college. He is 15 and wants his friends to join also (making a slight amount off everything they sell). What are the laws we need to be aware of? Can the other children work on commission only and not be employees? What are the child laws I should be aware of?

Asked on 8/03/14, 8:47 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy Klisz Klisz Law Office, PLLC

No one under 18 can contract legally in Michigan. He would need an adult to own the business and individual cities handle child work permits. Probably not a good idea to try and independent contract minors.

Read more
Answered on 8/03/14, 11:45 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Michigan