Legal Question in Civil Rights Law in Michigan

A piercing shop wouldn't do my 2 year olds ears because she cannot verbally consent. Earring holes can close up if she chooses not to wear them, but it is a lot less painful and easier to clean the earlier it is done. I'm the legal parent, & it is our tradition to get a baby's ears pierced. Mine were done in the hospital when I was born. I know businesses can refuse service to anyone, but can they refuse over cultural beliefs? They clearly feel culturally & morally superior by stating that they will only do it if my toddler tells them she wants them to. By the time she actually can talk that much, she will likely be too afraid. My girl is interested in my earrings & touches her own ears. I don't want her going through half her childhood crying that she wants them, but doesn't want it to hurt. I believe as her parent I can make that decision now, no muss no fuss, but they seem to think they know what's best for other people's children.

Asked on 8/01/21, 12:05 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy Klisz Klisz Law Office, PLLC

The business can choose their own policies and follow them as long as it doesn’t break any laws. I don’t know of any laws this breaks. Feel free to try another place.

Read more
Answered on 8/01/21, 3:49 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Civil Rights Law questions and answers in Michigan