Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Michigan

Does a wife by law have to pay all husband's debt after he passes away

Asked on 7/02/15, 11:37 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Stuart Collis Collis, Griffor & Hendra, PC

Spouses are not liable for each other's debts in Michigan. However, the personal representative of a decedent's estate must pay for all debts prior to distribution of funds to heirs.

Read more
Answered on 7/02/15, 11:50 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Michigan