Legal Question in Criminal Law in Michigan

After being caught with possession of a controlled substance, how long do they have to bring charges or convict you of the crime? I was caught over three years ago and have never been charged with anything.

Asked on 10/02/13, 5:47 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jared Austin Austin Legal Services, PLC

They have 6 years from the date of the offense to bring charges. It can take anywhere from 6 months to a year for the lab results to come back. It is probably not likely that they would file charges after 3 years if they have not done so already. However, they may very well have filed charges and you just don't know about it. You could very well have an active warrant. I would call the court to see if you have an active warrant for your arrest.

Read more
Answered on 10/02/13, 11:14 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Michigan