Legal Question in Family Law in Michigan

I borrowed money from a family member. Approximately $3000 dollars. I paid about $2000 of the money and stopped when the person starting using heroin, crack cocaine,ect., and was in and out of rehab/jail. This person was not invovled in ANY of this when I borrowed the money by the way. We have a signed contract saying I would pay $75 dollars a month until it was paid off. During the time that I stopped paying this person, they stole from me. I know for sure that my digital camera was stolen in January of 09. I had only had it since Christmas. That is only one of the most expensive things among others. My grandmother had recently passed away when this person started using and this person also stole ALL of her jewelry. It wasn't worth much but enough to get her fix. It was more emotionally valued.. She stole multiple credit cards from my Aunt to buy needles, wrote bad checks.. and all of this AFTER she blew through the 50,000 dollars that was left to her when her father passed away. I was just curious if this person was to take me to court if I would still have to pay back the $1000 dollars. I don't feel like I owe her anything due to everything she has stolen from me and my family, but I know being that there is a paper contract that she could probably take me to court.

Asked on 1/27/10, 6:24 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy Klisz Klisz Law Office, PLLC

I think you answered your own question. You borrowed money and agreed to

pay it back. Your defenses can come out in court. Tim Klisz

Read more
Answered on 2/01/10, 6:58 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Michigan