Legal Question in Family Law in Michigan

My boyfriend and I live in Michigan and are planning to get married. I am concerned, however, because he and I are both unsure if he was technically married before or not. He was in the army and was going to be deployed to Iraq. At that time he had a different girlfriend and she talked him into getting married before he left so that she would have access to his benefits. However, he was injured in training and never ended up deploying. They went and got a marriage certificate but never ended up going through with a ceremony or any of that. Is he married? What sort of paperwork will we need to fill out before he and I can get married?

Asked on 1/27/10, 9:21 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Charles Kronzek The Kronzek Firm PLC

Getting a marriage license does not by itself get you married. Check with the Clerk of the Court in the county that issued the marriage license to see if they say he is married.

Read more
Answered on 2/01/10, 9:40 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Michigan