Legal Question in Family Law in Michigan

Please help! My question was- Opposing counsel hand wrote things into the Divorce settlement Agreement AFTER I reluctantly signed it. My attorney will not properly represent me and stand up for me. I disagree with opposing counsel's additions and don't want to sign. The Judge has now signed the JOD, how long do I have before it is legal? I fired my attorney 2 weeks ago because he also signed off my rights to our cottage before I had even signed papers to hire him. I have another attorney going to fight these illegal actions but I must first come up with $2,500 retainer. I am disabled and only receive $1,050 per month which is 1/4 of my husbands income per month. I have been married for 38 years and this divorce has gone on for 31 months now. Time is ticking, please help.

Asked on 3/23/18, 1:03 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

If the judge signed your judgment, it is likely recorded. It's now legal. You should contact a family law appeals attorney quickly. Attorney Scott Bassett is a good choice.

Read more
Answered on 3/23/18, 1:14 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Michigan