Legal Question in Family Law in Michigan

My wife filed an injunction for domestic violence. She said that there was no physical violence, only threats. We have 2 boys 8 and 6yrs old and she claimed that none of the threats were made in front of the kids. She has no witnesses, texts, emails, videos etc. She lied and exaggerated the threats. I have zero history of any kind of violence, no felonies, bar fights, or domestic violence etc. I hired a lawyer and she told me not to go to court because the man always loses. She said I would have to prove my wife is lying. Is the fact that there was no physical violence and I have a clean history enough to probably have it thrown out? I didn't go to court because my lawyer said to accept it because it will look like I'm playing nice. We live in Florida but now I'm homeless living in Michigan with my parents while she enjoys the house and kids. Should have I have fought this in court instead of agreeing to have it extended? Thank you


Asked on 6/09/18, 8:17 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Charles Kronzek The Kronzek Firm PLC

You seem to be asking a question about Florida law. If so, you need to ask a Florida lawyer. If this had happened in Michigan, I probably would not have given you the same advice.

Read more
Answered on 6/09/18, 9:01 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Michigan