Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Michigan

AC Unit

Would installing a window mount AC Unit be considered an alteration to an apartment. I am a renter. My landlordís lease agreement only reads that I canít make any alterations without consent; nothing about that I could put a temporary window mounted unit in my bedroom window. He confronted me and said I have to take it out. He said, ďI donít allow those.Ē Do I have an argument?


Asked on 7/16/09, 5:09 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Lesley Hoenig Lesley A. Hoenig, Attorney at Law

Re: AC Unit

I suspect it might hinge on who is paying the electric bill. Is it you or the landlord?

Read more
Answered on 7/16/09, 5:17 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Michigan