Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Michigan

My Mother put my brother on a quit claim deed for her house 4 years ago, he got married 2 years ago and my Mother passed away in October of last year. She had a will dividing all assets equally between 4 siblings. In April of this year my brother put him and his wife on the quit claim deed without our knowledge and he passed away 3 weeks ago. Now his wife is trying to sell the house and leave the country. She is from the Philippines and is not a US citizen yet. What can we do?

Asked on 8/23/16, 4:33 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy Klisz Klisz Law Office, PLLC

Not much. If I follow the trail, mom deeded it to one son and then passed. Son deeded it to his wife, then passed. That makes it her home because a deed will trump the will because the home is not a probate asset.

Read more
Answered on 8/23/16, 5:45 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Michigan