Legal Question in Criminal Law in Minnesota

Mutual Statutory Rape?

I'm a Science teacher teaching Sex Ed to my students where one asked a good question about Statutory rape laws. Could two underage individuals in a sexual relationship form a situation for Statutory rape?

The information I have so far found is at best unreliable so I'd love some further insight.

Asked on 5/11/09, 7:45 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Maury Beaulier612.240.8005 Minnesota Lawyers

Re: Mutual Statutory Rape?

The answer is "yes" depending the respective ages of the juveniles. If one is more than 24 months older than the other, it would support a criminal charge.

Read more
Answered on 5/11/09, 9:44 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Minnesota