Legal Question in Civil Litigation in Minnesota


I cosigned for a car with a boyfriend (whom I am no longer with - biggest mistake I have ever made). On the title it lists my name first, then his. Under "First Secured Buyer DOB" it lists my birthday first. All mail is addressed to me regarding the car. He does not qualify to refinance the car on his own and no one else will cosign for him. This is 7 years of my life tied to someone I do not trust with my financial health. Is there ANYTHING I can do to get off of the loan? *Side note: this was a physically abusive relationship though I have no proof other than my word as well as friends and family against his. I fear that I am stuck.

Asked on 3/16/16, 5:37 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Anderson Anderson Business Law LLC

Who has possession of the vehicle?

If you can dispose of the collateral you will be off the hook (at leadt for the FMV of car)

Call or email me Thurs AM

Read more
Answered on 3/16/16, 5:59 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in Minnesota