Legal Question in Employment Law in Minnesota

I was let go from my job in Minnesota. My employer paid me my "final paycheck" the following day but shorted me money. I sent a text message to the front desk manager, citing the days/approximate amounts I was shorted, and was told accounting was gone for the weekend. I followed up again on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. I also left a voicemail for the GM on Wednesday and spoke with another staff member who handles some of the accounting. I never heard anything back on Thursday or Friday. The following Monday I sent a certified letter to the GM demanding my wages and received the amount I was shorted on Friday, two weeks after I initially asked. Would this "qualify" as being able to take them to court and try to receive up to the 15 day penalt? Or because they finally paid me after my "certified letter" that is considered the 24 hours? Any information would be greatly appreciated and helpful. Thank you for your time and information.

Asked on 5/28/16, 3:25 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Anderson Anderson Business Law LLC

MN Statute 181.13 states:

"If the employee's earned wages and commissions are not paid within 24 hours after demand, " NOT written demand, so penalty clock starts from initial demand.

Read more
Answered on 5/29/16, 8:38 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Minnesota