Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Minnesota

I will be moving to a MN town in a couple days and need a place to stay for 4 months. Every renter claims to only offer 12 month leases... but I was told by one of them that I can break the lease with 30 days notice and a small fee. If this is in the lease, and I comply with the proper actions to break the lease after 4 months, am I legally free from any further obligations or does the land lord still have the power to require me to pay the remaining duration of the lease?

Asked on 8/29/13, 9:19 am

2 Answers from Attorneys

Tricia Dwyer Tricia Dwyer Esq & Assoc PLLC

Hello. If you known you want a 4 month duration lease, then I suggest that that should be the only agreement that you sign. Agreements are negotiable, and supply and demand is involved. Sometimes there are special clauses for early termination of a lease for a reason such as a purchase of a home or job transfer or more than X miles distance, and the tenant typically pays one or more fees of various sorts to have such a clause inserted in the lease. With the concerns you express, I urge you to have attorney review of any lease agreement prior to you signing. In general: Some attorneys are available seven days for emergency legal needs. Many attorneys will confer initially at no charge. Then, if legal work is performed, some attorneys will provide a reduced fee for financial hardship. Some attorneys may also assist you in a limited scope manner to conserve legal costs. All the best.


Tricia Dwyer, Esq & Associates PLLC

Phone: 612-296-9666

[email protected]


Read more
Answered on 8/29/13, 9:37 am

Sam Calvert Calvert Law Office

Whatever you are told over the phone does not count -- you need to read the actual contract and see what the penalties for termination are.

Read more
Answered on 8/29/13, 9:39 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Minnesota