Legal Question in Personal Injury in Minnesota

Is it legal for a judge to add paperwork to a plantiffs motion to add punitive damages to their claim? At my recent motion hearing the judge had her clerk print off the original complaint from the arresting officer and added it to the plantiffs motion and then granted the motion based on what she added. Without the original complaint the motion did not meet the criteria to add punitive damages.

Asked on 3/31/14, 12:40 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Maury Beaulier612.240.8005 Minnesota Lawyers

A court may take Judicial Notice of other court orders. However, your case would have to be reviewed to determine, what, in fact, occurred.

Read more
Answered on 3/31/14, 12:52 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Personal Injury Law and Tort Law questions and answers in Minnesota