I got pulled over for a broken tail light, the officer said he smelled weed. At this point I was sharing a car with my boyfriend because he had just moved back to Minnesota due to me getting pregnant unexpectedly. I wasn't aware of anything in the car. The police demanded I get out so he could search my car. He found a minuscule amount and charged me with possession of 1.4 grams. The problem is the officer didn't have any way of weighing it and when I spoke to my boyfriend later he said it was remnants of one gram he had been smoking for a week, so in all likelihood it was less than 1/2 a gram. My question is can this charge et dropped since it wasn't my pot and the officer lied about the amount in question? I'm 7 months pregnant and would never smoke pot! Also my boyfriend is willing to testify in court that it is his. Should we take that risk or could we both end up getting charged? Is there any way they could produce the bag of weed in court so we can prove its nowhere near 1.4 grams? By the way this happened in Minneapolis, MN.
1 Answer from Attorneys
Wow. There are many problems with what happened here. Yes, you have many options for challenging this charge. Get help from a lawyer. There should be a way to get this case resolved in a good way for you, while also protecting your boyfriend from also being charged. Feel free to give me a call to discuss things further. I would have a lot of fun with a case like this. 651-994-6744.
Related Questions & Answers
I was cited incorrectly for a ticket. The officer told me I was being cited for no... Asked 7/28/16, 10:18 pm in United States Minnesota Traffic Law
If I received a a summons/complaint for a traffic violation and it has the wrong... Asked 7/13/16, 8:03 am in United States Minnesota Traffic Law
I just had my license revoked because I had a previous ticket from not having my... Asked 6/28/16, 12:10 pm in United States Minnesota Traffic Law
I lost my license for 30 days. I drove to the bodyshop where i was getting my... Asked 3/16/16, 1:34 pm in United States Minnesota Traffic Law
Is is legal for a police officer to deny a a 3 yr old child the use of a child... Asked 11/06/15, 8:55 am in United States Minnesota Traffic Law