I recently hit a parked car on the side of a narrow street only a few blocks from my house. I wasn't aware of the accident til i returned to my home. The cops found my car and took it to the impound and have it on a police hold. How long can they hold it? I obviously did it and admit wrong doing and will pay the damages and then some. I jus tneed to know how long they will hold my vehicle?
1 Answer from Attorneys
Re: Traffic Law
It is possible that you may be charged with a mnisdemeanor for leaving the scene of an accident. A misdemeanor is puinishable by up to 90 days in jail and a $1000 fine.
Your vehicle may be held so long as it is the fruit of an ongoing investigation. Law enforcement may hold that vehicle to try to compel you to provide a statement to them. However, you have no obligation to provide any statement and should mopt do so without retaining counsel.
For a consultation call 612.240.8005.
Related Questions & Answers
Hit and run? I was recently driving home and upon arriving at home, i noticed my... Asked 1/03/09, 7:05 pm in United States Minnesota Traffic Law
Rear-ending crash While traveling 40 mph on a two-lane road this morning, a truck... Asked 12/29/08, 3:46 pm in United States Minnesota Traffic Law
Fees What is the percentage is supposed to be charged when a sedulement is received?... Asked 12/03/08, 12:24 pm in United States Minnesota Traffic Law
Searcing a Car without a warrent We were recently pulled over at night and the 21... Asked 11/18/08, 1:10 pm in United States Minnesota Traffic Law
Invitee status i was given an actual case senario for a law enforcement class. this... Asked 11/11/08, 1:55 am in United States Minnesota Traffic Law