Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Minnesota

Can Aunt still inherit from someone if charged with financial exploiting that person? My Aunt stole over $200,000 from my grandmother - she was basically penniless when she died. My Aunt has been charged with financial exploitation of a vulnerable adult and theft by swindle over $35,000. Sounds like she will be pleading guilty to both felonies - they are in negotiations as to how much jail time, - Anyway, she along with her brother and sister were the heirs to the estate. The estate has a chance to recover a portion of that money - if it is recovered would the estate have to pay her portion to her - she already got $200,000 she stole.

Asked on 2/13/14, 8:14 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Tricia Dwyer Tricia Dwyer Esq & Assoc PLLC

This matter has already been posted repeatedly. See prior response.

Read more
Answered on 2/14/14, 5:23 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Minnesota