Legal Question in Criminal Law in Mississippi

While in college in Mississippi, on 10/21/2011, I received a citation for minor in possession of beer. I was 20 years old at the time. I plead guilty and then sought expungement pursuant to Mississippi Code Annotated section 45-27-9(1). The motion for expungment was granted on June 15, 2013.

I am a resident of Louisiana. I attend law school in Louisiana. I am applying for the South Carolina Bar examination. There is a question which requires the "complete record of all instances in which i have been arrested, or taken into custody or accused, formally or informally, of the violation of a law including instances which have been expunged by Order of the Court..."

Am I required to disclose the MIP expungement even though it happened in Mississippi?

Is this code section relevant: MISS. CODE ANN.. 99-19-71(3) says "No person as to whom an expunction order has been entered shall be held thereafter under any provision of law to be guilty of perjury or to have otherwise given a false statement by reason of his failure to recite or acknowledge such arrest, indictment or conviction in response to any inquiry made of him for any pur- pose other than the purpose of determining, in any subsequent proceedings under this section, whether the person is a first offender."


Asked on 1/12/17, 12:14 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Anders Ferrington Anders Ferrington PLLC

One hundred percent yes you disclose it and explain it

Read more
Answered on 1/12/17, 1:16 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Mississippi