Legal Question in Intellectual Property in Missouri

Would it be copyright infringement to watch a youtube video together in a private tutoring class (I am paid for this service)?

I am a private English language tutor, I want to use Google Hangouts, a video conferencing application, to watch youtube videos with my students for teaching purposes. The ability to watch these videos together is built into the application. I want to know if it would be illegal to do so.

Asked on 1/07/14, 7:26 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Bruce Burdick Burdick Law Firm

Generally NO. That is almost certainly "fair use". Read 17 USC 107.

Read more
Answered on 7/24/14, 2:17 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Intellectual Property questions and answers in Missouri