Legal Question in Traffic Law in Missouri

I live in Missouri (University City) and just got my second ticket for not having a front plate. I got my first ticket for no front plate two weeks ago while I was parked in front of my house and asleep at night. The ticket was left on my car. I paid the first ticket even though it felt wrong they could ticket me while parked on the street outside of my house! (We have street parking here, with neighborhood residental stickers to show we are residents.) My car doesn't have a place for a front plate, but we contacted the dealer and once the part comes in, we will go get the plate put on. In the meantime, I just got a second ticket for no front plate. Again, it was issued at night while I was in my house sleeping! This seems absurd. I looked at the Missouri statute (Mo. Rev. Stat. Section 301.130.1(5)) and it states that "No motor vehicle or trailer shall be operated on any highway of this state unless it shall have displayed thereon the license plate or set of license plates...." The key being, it says operated. I was not operating the vehicle. I want to go to court instead of the paying the second fine. There is actually case law in Missouri that I think supports my view, but it is from a Kansas City court. Please help me if you can.

Asked on 3/24/16, 12:36 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael R. Nack Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law

Sounds like you are already doing your own legal research. How is that working out for you? Hire an attorney or pay your fines.

Read more
Answered on 3/28/16, 6:39 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in Missouri