Legal Question in Immigration Law in Nebraska

Hi there

I filed i-140 petition for the EB1 visa as a person with extraordinary ability. USCIS denied petition more than 1 month ago. Thus, I am not eligible to file appeal for the denial. Also, I would not like to send the petition again, because I am not more engaged in the main activity of "extraordinary ability".

But I would like to file a lawsuit in the Federal Court against USCIS regarding i-140 denial. Could you please tell: is there any deadline for filing lawsuit? Which law regulates such deadline?

I've got denial in June, 2016.

Asked on 8/27/16, 12:19 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Marlene Hemmings Marlene Hemmings, Attorney at Law

You cannot sue USCIS for denying your case. You can file a motion to reopen or reconsider within 30 days of the denial, or you can re-file the case.

Read more
Answered on 8/27/16, 2:03 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Immigration Law questions and answers in Nebraska