Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Nebraska

Landlord/Tenant - What are my rights?

I am having an issue that I am unsure

how to proceed. This past June, I told

my landlord I needed to move because

I couldn't afford. I was told to get a

roommate or apply for Section 8) I

saidi needed to leave soon, at the

latest by August. I realize now my

error in only a verbal, but the entire

tenancy has been informal. I have

moved out now, except for some items

and cleaning. I

am living with friends and family until

I pay the landlord off. The real

question that I have is does the

landlord or her son have the right to

follow me around town to see where I

am storing my property? Since I don't

have a permanent address, I am using

my PO Box as my forwarding address.

I told them that where I store my

property is not their concern, they said

yes, ''just in case.'' For what? The last

time the son followed me, I became

uneasy (had my young sisters and I

am six months pregnant). I called the

police. I have not been given a writ or

notice of eviction. The son keeps

getting my face about the key, but I

have property in there, he says so.

Can they follow me everywhere and

harass me? I want to go get my

property, but not to get followed. I am


Asked on 8/27/08, 2:53 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Duke Drouillard Drouillard Law, LLC

Re: Landlord/Tenant - What are my rights?

Contact the county attorney's office to see if the facts support a charge for stalking.

Read more
Answered on 8/29/08, 10:00 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Nebraska