How long can the Justice system keep someone in jail. So far 60 days without a trial. Is this illegal?
1 Answer from Attorneys
In Nevada a person has the right to a preliminary hearing within 15 days of the date of the arrest to determine if there is probable cause to hold the individual in custody pending trial.
After the preliminary hearing a person has a right to a speedy trial within 60 days from the date of the arraignment.
The individual must asset (or ask) for a speedy trial within 60 days and they can also waive their right to a speedy trial (often it is not in the individuals best interest to go to trial in 60 days and sometimes strategically it is better to waive your right to a trial in 60 days.
Also an individual has the right to bail and can post bail to be released while the case is pending and awaiting trial ( often times individuals who do not have money to post their own bail will hire a bail bondsman for a fee to post a bond on their behalf which will enable them to be released while they are waiting for trial.
Related Questions & Answers
I have a bench warrant, can I leave the country for vacation or will they detain me? Asked 5/28/15, 12:23 pm in United States Nevada Criminal Law
How do i press chargers on a person who BROKE windows on my car and DAMIGED the... Asked 5/25/15, 12:48 pm in United States Nevada Criminal Law
The other day I was pulled over by the police. I was with a friend that took off... Asked 5/18/15, 7:41 pm in United States Nevada Criminal Law
An individual has shoplifted items from stores before. Has never officially been... Asked 5/17/15, 7:13 pm in United States Nevada Criminal Law