Legal Question in Intellectual Property in New Hampshire

painting photo taken by somebody else

I have been asked to do a painting for a charity fundraiser. I found a photograph in a gallery online that I found quite moving, and would like that to be my subject. Can I do this legally? I am not being paid, but the painting will be auctioned to raise money for a local playground/park. I don't plan on ''copying'' the photo exactly, but certainly would like it to be the basis of my painting. Thanks

Asked on 9/19/06, 8:41 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Lawrence Graves Coolidge & Graves PLLC

Re: painting photo taken by somebody else

Best to consult with a lawyer as to the specific facts here, but you should be OK under a couple of different legal theories.

Best wishes,


Read more
Answered on 9/19/06, 11:23 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Intellectual Property questions and answers in New Hampshire