Legal Question in Disability Law in New Jersey

I am 63 years old and I have been employed with a small company (6 people) for the past 12 years. I have gotten raises and yearly bonuses annually so my job must have been satisfactory. I suffered from a non job related injury and needed to have rotator cuff surgery. When I told my boss and office manager about the required surgery I was told my job was safe. On June 8th I went on short term disability. They were originally told that the earliest I would be back could be between 4-6 weeks but that my Doctor wouldn't know for sure until he went in and saw what he was dealing with and how my physical therapy worked out, I was told my job was safe and i didn't have to worry. I kept the office up to date with the happenings and a letter was also sent to them from my doctor after my post op visit. I emailed them today to let them know i started Physical Therapy and would see my Doctor on the 23rd and he would let me (and them) know when he felt i would be back to work. I was told on my last day that I would no be allowed back in office unless I had a doctors note saying I could be back. Shortly after my email to them this morning I got a call from our office manager that I was being let go, she claims my boss doesn't want to wait any longer for my return. Mind you I don't have a job that would cause monetary loss for company I answered phones, filed and did the jobs no one else wanted to do - any temporary hire could handle this. I was told that my insurance would end at the end of the month (meanwhile I need this to continue my Therapy) Is there any recourse I can take

Asked on 7/11/18, 4:25 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jef Henninger, Esq Law Offices of Jef Henninger, Esq.

This might help

Read more
Answered on 7/11/18, 4:44 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Disability Discrimination Law (ADA) questions and answers in New Jersey